MarsEarth

Old world wisdom, new world insight – poems, poetry, philosophy, dreams, commentary, ideas

Tom Petty – RIP

Leave a comment

by Lawrence J. J. Leonard

In an ironic twist of life and death, we will soon celebrate the birthday of Thomas Earl Petty, AKA Tom Petty, the  American rock musician, singer-songwriter, producer and music icon.  He was born in Gainesville, Florida, on October 20, 1950.

As the lead singer of Tom Petty and the Heartbreakers in his early career, he went on to co-found the 1980s supergroup “The Traveling Wilburys” with George Harrison (formerly of The Beatles) which also included Bob Dylan, Roy Orbison, and Jeff Lynne (formerly of Electric Light Orchestra).

His recent death on October 2, 2017,  came too soon for our current generation of youth and 20-somethings who are woefully musically clueless by being exposed to the overpoliticized genre that is the self-aggrandizing rhythmic expression performed as Rap. Add to that the Electronic Pop swill from LA and NYC “record” production companies which foist repetitive and mindless phrases posing as anthems into the distribution stream to hawk oversexualized personas that will never pass as teen role models no matter how little they “donate to show you care” –  when everyone is looking. But, I digress. Suffice to say that music as an art form has gone DOWN a peg with his unexpected passing.

If you grew up with rock music and appreciated what it was to sing about America and the American dream, or even if you only just learned about his melodies, or were ever fortunate enough to see him in concert, you may appreciate the following  song from the Heartbreaker’s golden years.  It was at the dawning of cable TV and MTV and CCTV and mobile phones. 

Although it only peaked at #59 on the Billboard Hot 100 Rock charts, the song came from their breakthrough 1979 album “Damn the Torpedoes.”

Tom Petty and the Heartbreakers were inducted into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame in 2002.
The original band members were
Tom Petty, Mike Campbell, Benmont Tench, Ron Blair, and Stan Lynch.

Goodnight, Tom. Thank you!

Lyrics: written by Tom Petty and Mike Campbell

“Here Comes My Girl” – click here to see a live performance

(spoken)
You know, sometimes, I don’t know why,
But this old town just seems so hopeless.
I ain’t really sure, but it seems I remember the good times
When there was a little bit more in focus.

But when she puts her arms around me,
I can, somehow, rise above it
Yeah man, when I got that little girl standing right by my side,
You know, I can tell the whole wide world to ‘Shove it!’

Hey, here comes my girl! Here comes my girl.
Yeah, she looks so right.
She’s all I need tonight.

(spoken)
Every now and then, I get down to the end of a day,
I’ll have to stop, ask myself why I’ve done it.
It just seems so useless to have to work so hard,
and nothing ever really seem to come from it.

And then she looks me in the eye, says, “We’re gonna last forever.”
And man, you know I can’t begin to doubt it.
No, because this feels so good and so free and so right,
I know we ain’t never going to change our minds about it

Hey, here comes my girl! Here comes my girl.
Yeah, she looks so right.
She’s all I need tonight.

(spoken)
Watch her walk . . . .
Yeah, everytime it seems like there ain’t nothin’ left no more,
I find myself havin’ to reach out and grab hold of something
Yeah, I just catch myself wandering, waiting, worrying
about some silly little things that don’t add up to nothing

And then she looks me in the eye, says, “We’re gonna last forever.”
And man, you know I can’t begin to doubt it.
No, because this feels so good and so free and so right,
I know we ain’t never going to change our minds about it

Hey, here comes my girl! Here comes my girl.
Yeah, she looks so right.
She’s all I need tonight.

(spoken)
That’s right
That’s right
Yeah

Depressed? Do something about it. Please find help before making any rash decisions.  Click here: the National Institute of Mental Health.

Eating disorder (ED)? CLICK HERE to get more information from the NIMH.

Read up on PTSD – post traumatic stress disorder Click Here.

Don’t try suicide. Talk to somebody. Click here for the phone number and information.

Copyright © 1960-2017 Lawrence J. J. Leonard All rights reserved.

Author: SpindoctorUSA

Read about it here: https://marsearth.wordpress.com/about/

Leave a Reply

