MarsEarth

Old world wisdom, new world insight – poems, poetry, philosophy, dreams, commentary, ideas

The Saddest Songs of Rock and Roll – #14

Leave a comment

Lawrence J. J. Leonard

Sometimes we hear a song in our heads – over and over and over. When happy, it is a great thing. When it is an annoying jingle or an unpleasant phrase, the whole day can be one big distraction. Having a phrase or a command repeat itself is a challenge, especially if it is negative. The issue we have to deal with is when we let bad vibes and self-criticism determine our outlook on life. Letting bad things into our lives is a choice we make.

For the southern California alternative rock group, Awolnation, bringing attention to the fretful ideas in our heads which cause anxiety and worry is almost their trademark. Their songs ask questions: “Can I get an amen?” and “Do you love me?” and “Would you have the courage not to lie?” These are followed by being irresponsible: “Rob from the rich … to dance with the poor.” and “Look at who you’re hating. Now you’re celebrating.” Then,  expressing concern: “We must learn to cope.” and  “You gotta love your life.”

Band members Aaron Bruno, Christopher Thorn, David Amezcua, Hayden Scott and Kenny Carkeet all have had previous experience in a band. Their first studio work together, “Megalithic Symphony” was released in March, 2011.  The group’s subsequent tour helped the album reach #84 in the Billboard 200 Album charts. However, one song in particular did exactly what those pesky phrases in our minds do.  It appeared on the radio and then left. It went A.W.O.L. (absent without leave) so to speak. But then it re-entered radio rotation and climbed the charts to become a Top 40 hit. 

Is it just the nature of Humans to have a psyche that is hyper-critical? Do we often put ourselves down? Should we do that? Today’s culture seems to think there is always someone else to blame and that we are all just victims. How sad are we if we embrace this position of having no control over our own lives?

Number 14
The song “Sail” is a certified platinum record (six times), selling more than five and one-half million copies.  It reached #17 on the Billboard Hot 100 charts. It was first featured on the band’s debut EP, but then was a prominent track on their debut album. The official video shows Aaron as a person being chased by some unknown force. It appears to be a supernatural force. The images he approaches in one scene display violence and some eerie creatures and drawings. The lyrics point to a person having no control in a situation. (Maybe I should cry for help.) The video scenes point to someone having no control over self. (Blame it on my ADD, baby.)

As we continue to learn more about the Human brain, we find that what we feel is as important as what we think. What other people tell us about ourselves can either be uplifting or damaging. How we react may just determine if we can survive. The current state of physical medicine indicates that if we are on medications, we need to evaluate their benefits every so often. The current state of Human psychology suggests that if we are in the bad habit of blaming others or blaming conditions, we are not acting responsibly. It is important to understand our role in every situation we choose to be in and accept those consequences. 

Lyrics: written by Aaron Bruno

Sail!

This is how I show my love
I made it in my mind because
I blame it on my A.D.D. baby

This is how an angel dies
I blame it on my own supply
Blame it on my A.D.D. baby

Sail!
Sail!
Sail!
Sail!
Sail!

Maybe I should cry for help
Maybe I should kill myself (myself)
Blame it on my A.D.D. baby

Maybe I’m a different breed
Maybe I’m not listening
So blame it on my A.D.D. baby

Sail!
Sail!
Sail!
Sail!
Sail!

La la la la la
La la la la la oh!
La la la la la,
La la la la la oh!
La la la la la,
La la la la la,

Sail!
Sail!
Sail!
Sail!

Sail with me into the dark
Sail!
Sail with me into the dark
Sail!
Sail with me into the dark
Sail!
Sail with me
Sail!

Depressed? Do something about it. Please find help before making any rash decisions.  Click here: the National Institute of Mental Health.

Eating disorder (ED)? CLICK HERE to get more information from the NIMH.

Read up on PTSD – post traumatic stress disorder Click Here.

Don’t try suicide. Talk to somebody. Click here for the phone number and information.

Copyright © 1960-2017 Lawrence J. J. Leonard All rights reserved.

Author: SpindoctorUSA

Read about it here: https://marsearth.wordpress.com/about/

Leave a Reply

