MarsEarth

Old world wisdom, new world insight – poems, poetry, philosophy, dreams, commentary, ideas

The Saddest Songs of Rock and Roll – #24

Leave a comment

by Lawrence J. J. Leonard

What is a haunting memory? It does not always mean that the thing remembered is scary or threatening. It more often means that the particular recollection just shows up when least expected. It could be something traumatic, but that is more along the lines of PTSD. A haunting memory is usually like a regret of some kind. More often it is a type of separation felt by a couple or a family.

In the early 1970s David Pack, Burleigh Drummond, Christopher North, and Joe Puerta  began working together in southern California as the unique and memorable band Ambrosia. The group initially auditioned for Herb Alpert and A&M Records but got signed by Warner Brothers Records which would release five of the group’s albums.

Their first album was self titled and was released in February 1975. It produced their first legitimate hit “Holdin’ On To Yesterday” which peaked at #17 on the Billboard Hot 100 charts. The album was nominated for a Grammy in the ‘Best Engineered Recording’ category. They had some help from Alan Parsons who engineered the album. Then he produced their second “Somewhere I’ve Never Travelled.” The band returned the favor and played on Alan Parsons’ first Project album.

David was the songwriting influence for the band having written music solo and also in partnership with other band members. Many of the band’s tunes involved some sort of memory about relationships good and bad. While the members were honing their signature sound, they recorded their breakthough hit in 1978. It hammered home the painful recollections of a man whose love declared him unfaithful. How do we defend ourselves when this accusation is untrue?

Number 24
The hottest song of the summer of 1978 “How much I feel” soared to #2 on the Cash Box charts. It was the lead single of their third album “Life Beyond L.A.” Ambrosia was a heavyweight touring band and often headlined with The Doobie Brothers. This track’s success was the turning point for the band. It also brought to light David’s ability to create a memorable song that has a sad theme. Ambrosia would later acquire continued success with “Biggest Part of Me,” a clearly happier tune.

Nobody wants to be in a relationship where we fear our love is enamored with another person. Being told that we are unfaithful causes doubt about the strength of our commitment. When faced with untruths, it may be better to leave and find a love who is more confident of our fidelity.

Lyrics written by David Pack

I don’t know how this whole business started
Of you thinkin’ that I have been untrue
But if you think that we’d be better parted
It’s gonna hurt me, but I’ll break away from you
Well, just give me the sign and I will be gone, yeah

(That’s how much I feel) feel for you, baby
(How much I need) well I need your touch
(How much I live) I live for your loving
That’s how much (that’s how much)
That’s how much, that’s how much

I sleep alone, and late at night I’m dreamin’
Of the togetherness that seems to be leaving me
I’d give it all and then I’d give some more
If you would only love me like you had before
Well, take hold of my hand and all will be forgiven, yeah

(That’s how much I feel) feel for you, baby
(How much I need) I need your touch
(How much I live) I live for your loving
(That’s how much) that’s how much
That’s how much, that’s how much

So you try (try), try to stay in the middle
And then you cry (cry), well you cry just a little
Then you both realize
Just how foolish you’ve been
And you try to make amends
But you’re better off as friends
‘Cause that’s how much (that’s how much)
That’s how much, that’s how much

How’s your life been goin’ on?
I’ve got a wife now, years we’ve been goin’ strong
Oh, no, there’s just something that I’ve got to say
Sometimes when we make love
I still can see your face
Ooh, just try to recall
When we were as one, yeah

(That’s how much I feel) feel for you, baby
(How much I need) I need your touch
(How much I live) I live for your loving
That’s how much

If you are feeling depressed, do something about it. Please find help before making any rash decisions.  Click this resource, the National Institute of Mental Health.

If you or someone you know has an eating disorder (ED) CLICK HERE to get more information from the NIMH.

Read up on PTSD – post traumatic stress disorder Click Here.

Copyright © 1960-2017 Lawrence J. J. Leonard All rights reserved.

Author: SpindoctorUSA

Read about it here: https://marsearth.wordpress.com/about/

Leave a Reply

