MarsEarth

Old world wisdom, new world insight – poems, poetry, philosophy, dreams, commentary, ideas

Saddest Songs of Rock and Roll – #38

Leave a comment

by Lawrence J. J, Leonard

Ever have the perfect day? Wake up early and head out to the mall? Or just listen to some music? Maybe go to a favorite restaurant with friends, but when you turn around, there stands that person you used to have a steady relationship with. You can’t get  them back. It just kinda hurts inside to see them again.

This is not a familiar heart pang –  the same as when we fall in love with someone. Many times the hurt comes from recalling the breakup and what we went through during and after the separation. Did we let go? Did we move on?

By 1974 American singer-songwriter Paul Davis (1948-2008) had five years of music industry ups and downs. He was mostly a country cross-over artist. His nationally known  “Ride ’em Cowboy” song peaked at #23 and was a Top 40 favorite that same year. By 1976 some other type of music was weighing heavily on his mind.

Paul looked inward. Hel decided to write about what it was like to love someone deeply. Soon he came up with the idea to sing about seeing an old flame after ending the relationship. According to original American Top 40 show host Casey Kasem, Paul begged his studio to let R&B singer Lou Rawls publish the song. Paul knew it would be a sure hit. Studio execs saw how invested Paul was in the song’s success. They decided to release Paul’s studio demo version as a single. Everyone sympathizes with love lost.

Number 38
That theme became the first track entitled “I Go Crazy” appearing on Paul’s fifth LP “Singer of Songs: Teller of Tales.” The lament entered the Billboard Hot 100 chart in August of 1977.  And it stayed on until April of 1978 topping out at #7.  It was a slow climb, although it gathered more and more fans of Paul’s music every week.

Sometimes we just know in our hearts if something will work. But when it is a love that doesn’t have the staying power we hoped it would . . . we need to accept it.
And let it go.  And move on.

Lyrics:  written by Paul Davis

Hello girl it’s been awhile
Guess you’ll be glad to know
That I’ve learned how to laugh and smile

Getting over you was slow
They say old lovers can be good friends
But I never thought I’d really see you,
I’d really see you again

I go crazy
When I look in your eyes I still go crazy
No my heart just can’t hide that old feelin’ inside
Way deep down inside
Oh baby, you know when I look in your eyes I go crazy

You say he satifies your mind
Tells you all of his dreams
I know how much that means to you

I realize that I was blind
Just when I thought I was over you
I see your face and it just ain’t true
No it just ain’t true

I go crazy
When I look in your eyes I still go crazy
That old flame comes alive, it starts burning inside
Way deep down inside
Oh baby, you know when I look in your eyes I go crazy

Oooh, Oh Oooh, Oh
I go crazy
You know when I look in your eyes I go crazy
No my heart just can’t hide that old feelin’ inside
Way deep down inside
I go crazy

If you are feeling depressed, do something about it. Please find help before making any rash decisions.  Click this resource, the National Institute of Mental Health.

Copyright © 1960-2017 Lawrence J. J. Leonard All rights reserved.

Author: SpindoctorUSA

Read about it here: https://marsearth.wordpress.com/about/

Leave a Reply

