Saddest Songs of Rock and Roll – #45

by Lawrence J. J, Leonard

They know you and all your habits: Those closest to you; Your family; Your best friends; work acquaintances; Classmates and even those at your favorite restaurant. Sooner or later they can get on your nerves.

Asking too many questions. Accidentally bumping into you on your worst day. Looking at you funny when you are grumpiest. This could be you.

For George Harrison of The Beatles, this was happening all too often in 1968. Paul McCartney, Ringo Starr and John Lennon didn’t get along with George or each other. The Fab Four were not Rock gods, just Human.

When things get weird with those closest to you, it is okay to reach out to a friend outside the group.  For George it was Eric Clapton. George was into the Chinese I Ching.  This is a cosmological and philosophical way of explaining that all things happen for a reason. George thought if he asked Eric to play on his song then what was meant to be would be for the recording.

Number 45
The song “While my guitar gently weeps” was one of the few songs where a non-Beatle recorded with the band. The song when it was released in 1969.

Today it ranks 136th on the “500 Greatest Songs of All Time” by Rolling Stone Magazine. Recently, Eric’s lead guitar on the song is ranked #42 by Guitar World in its “100 Greatest Guitar Solos.” Eric was not formally credited with his contribution.

There are songs with sad lyrics and mournful leads that reflect our helplessness but become important in our lives. Singing along with them can allow us to cry. This is often cathartic and can be a good thing.

Lyrics:  written by George Harrison

I look at you all, see the love there that’s sleeping
While my guitar gently weeps
I look at the floor and I see it needs sweeping
Still my guitar gently weeps

I don’t know why nobody told you
How to unfold your love
I don’t know how someone controlled you
They bought and sold you

I look at the world and I notice it’s turning
While my guitar gently weeps
With every mistake we must surely be learning
Still my guitar gently weeps

Well…  I don’t know how you were diverted
You were perverted too
I don’t know how you were inverted
No one alerted you

I look at you all, see the love there that’s sleeping
While my guitar gently weeps
Look at you all
Still my guitar gently weeps

Oh, oh

If you are feeling depressed, do something about it. Please find help before making any rash decisions.  Click this resource, the National Institute of Mental Health.

Copyright © 1960-2017 Lawrence J. J. Leonard All rights reserved.

One thought on “Saddest Songs of Rock and Roll – #45

Leave a Reply

