MarsEarth

Old world wisdom, new world insight – poems, poetry, philosophy, dreams, commentary, ideas

In Memoriam: Gregg Allman

Leave a comment

by Lawrence J. J. Leonard

Rest in Peace: Gregory Lenoir “Gregg” Allman (December 8, 1947 – May 27, 2017). Gregg, an American musician, singer and songwriter, began his career in southern rock with his brother, Duane Allman, Berry Oakley, Jai Johanny “Jaimoe” Johanson,  Dickey Betts,  Butch Trucks, and Reese Wynans. The group took the name The Allman Brothers Band and broke ground in 1969 as the first rock and roll group with two lead guitars and two drummers.

The Allman Brothers Band began to reach mainstream success by the early 1970s, with their first live album “At Fillmore East.This was the first ever live album released by an American rock and roll group. It was certified platinum in 2004.

Gregg was 69 years old.  He had just finished directing the final edits on his upcoming solo album: “Southern Blood” which is due out later this year.

Gregg passed away with his family nearby, and was “at peace.”

Click here to listen to “Midnight Rider

From the album: Idlewild South
Lyrics and music:  written by Gregg Allman and Robert Kim Payne

Well, I’ve got to run to keep from hiding,
And I’m bound to keep on riding.
And I’ve got one more silver dollar,
But I’m not gonna let them catch me, no.
Not gonna let them catch the Midnight Rider.

I don’t own the clothes I’m wearing,
And the road goes on forever,
I’ve got one more silver dollar,
But I’m not gonna let them catch me, no.
Not gonna let them catch the Midnight Rider.

I’ve gone by the point of caring,
Some old bed I’ll soon be sharing,
And I’ve got one more silver dollar,
But I’m not gonna let them catch me, no.
Not gonna let them catch the Midnight Rider.

No, I’m not gonna let them catch me, no.
Not gonna let them catch the Midnight Rider.

No, I’m not gonna let them catch me, no
Not gonna let them catch the Midnight Rider.

No, I’m not gonna let them catch me, no
Not gonna let them catch the Midnight Rider.

Copyright © 1960-2017 Lawrence J. J. Leonard All rights reserved.

Author: SpindoctorUSA

Read about it here: https://marsearth.wordpress.com/about/

Leave a Reply

