MarsEarth

Old world wisdom, new world insight – poems, poetry, philosophy, dreams, commentary, ideas

6-56

Leave a comment

by Lawrence J. J. Leonard

A rush of drumming,
pounding,
awakens my sleep;
lost forever those final few seconds of bliss.
Shattered into
clarity
four minutes before my alarm.

It is late
must be cloudy
because the dawn
grey
gives no luster to this room.
Or is it night
already?
Oversleeping the sun
but not its shine.

Darkness gets darker
after twilight,
only the moons to ponder.
A knock on the door
and I jump out of the bed.
The clock face fades
the digital chronometer
goes black.

Visitor at the entrance
opens the door
calls out a number.
Pulls on my wrist
the bar code exposed
the scanner beeps.
I am . . .
6-5-6 !

Copyright © 1960-2017 Lawrence J. J. Leonard All rights reserved.

Author: SpindoctorUSA

Read about it here: https://marsearth.wordpress.com/about/

Leave a comment