The bad news

by Lawrence J. J. Leonard

What a great gathering this was to reminisce.
Everyone here missed the rush that was you.
So many feelings bubble up now.

The way you carried yourself made you popular.
This party is in celebration mode now.
Your procession through that ghost field was hard to do.

I should not have waited to say:
You look great.
I dig your opinion, can you advise me?
Wanna go to lunch together?
Dude! So glad you are my friend.

I blew each chance to thank you for all that you did for me;
Made me smile and laugh;
Gave me the chance to talk without judgment.

But then you didn’t talk to me last Friday.
You looked mad. I let that stop me.
Just found out that was when you got the bad news.

I wish you would have shared that pain.
We all make our choices.
I am regretting the ones where I was silent.

Now all I can say is that
you will be missed
and if I could do it all over again
I would tell you to your face how valuable you were.

I won’t be so nonchalant with the rest of my chances
and will say something complimentary to those around me
because of your memory.

Copyright © 1960-2017 Lawrence J. J. Leonard All rights reserved.

Leave a Reply

