Johnny Law

by Lawrence J. J. Leonard

Just when I thought I was all alone then.
Out of nowhere came a man child.
His voice was low, but his baby face
never revealed the teenager who
navigated pain and depression and self-loathing.
Yesterday is forever before me with all the smiles he conjured. And laughter!

“Law. Johnny Law,” he said his name to me. “Or, just John.”
And little did I know that all our tomorrows
would end soon, because he left this world before we turned fifteen.

Copyright © 1960-2017 Lawrence J. J. Leonard  All rights reserved.

Leave a Reply

