MarsEarth

Old world wisdom, new world insight – poems, poetry, philosophy, dreams, commentary, ideas

Only today

Leave a comment

by Lawrence J. J. Leonard

On the Internet I receive THE all-day coupon
and use it to find the BEST gift for your sake, but
it is hard to track down that one THING to show I care
and IN my experience, an armful of presents is overkill.

So MY intuition tells me to be more creative
and choose some new art with vibrant LIFE
that expresses how smart your choice IS in choosing me
which should make YOU think that I am so cool.

After many hours I am convinced to buy
that perfect scarf you said you WANTED
or the fur coat I promised YOU all those years ago
TO keep you warm during this really cold winter.

The credit card company can SEE my account updates on
several sites but IT doesn’t get me any closer to
giving you that one gift FOR our holiday together, so
I’m beginning to think you should buy it YOURSELF.

I can always get something expensive TODAY
then put it under the tree when your mother BRINGS your dad
over to our house and they chase seasonal DARKNESS
with their cookies and mulled wine, BUT, I guess I’m torn,

between offering YOU an unwanted status present
in front of your parents, even if it can’t BRIGHTEN
our stormy relationship despite MY selfish ways.
I have only TODAY to show how precious you are to me.

Steganograph brought to you by the last autumn chill of 2016.

Copyright © 1960-2016 Lawrence J. J. Leonard  All rights reserved.

Author: SpindoctorUSA

Read about it here: https://marsearth.wordpress.com/about/

Leave a Reply

