I go back and forth go I

by Lawrence J. J. Leonard

New lives here
are tempting.
The secrets of the universe.
I struggle but
no tears come with the cold morning sun.
To discover the forgotten road
I am ill-equipped
for the elusive ‘X’.
Without a shovel
one last cudgeled mound.
My grave marker
gasping for air.
Alone with the stillness.
Damp and silent earth towering
over me.
Water bubbles up suddenly.

I go back and
forth go I.

Water bubbles up, suddenly over me.
Damp and silent earth towering.
Alone with the stillness.
Gasping for air.
My grave marker, one last cudgeled mound.
Without a shovel for the elusive ‘X’.
I am ill-equipped.
to discover the forgotten road.
With the cold morning sun no tears come.
I struggle but
the secrets of the universe
are tempting
new lives here.

Copyright © 1960-2016 Lawrence J. J. Leonard  All rights reserved

Leave a Reply

