If I had asked you

by Lawrence J. J. Leonard

I saw you at the party
dressed like a queen in that gown.
Almost didn’t recognize you
with that sad, sad frown.

If I had asked you
there’d be a different Coach at your side,
it would be a coach wagon filled with me and the kids.

There would be a different way to say Gucci,
because it would come out like ‘goochie goochie coo’
If I had
asked you

If I had asked you
a sparkly ring might not be there
unless the long neck you were holding was sweating by the back porch light.

There would be a different meaning to Rolls-Royce.
That’s what you’d yell out to our son when the biscuits were almost done.
(Get the rolls, Royce!)
If I had
asked you

There are times when your lover works late
and so I heard you’ve had to wing it alone.
That would never happen
if you’d said ‘I do’ to me.
We’d talk on the phone
and say ‘I love you, too’
because coming home to you is all I’d ever want to do.

If I had asked you
the only servant you would probably see
would be me cleaning house while you were in the kitchen cooking.

As for caviar you might have a roe tell,
but if you said it to me I know there’s peppers in the stew
If I had
asked you

I saw you at the party
dressed like a queen in that gown.
Almost didn’t recognize you
with that sad, sad frown.

Copyright © 1960-2016 Lawrence J. J. Leonard  All rights reserved

Leave a Reply

