MarsEarth

Old world wisdom, new world insight – poems, poetry, philosophy, dreams, commentary, ideas

Crackle and bump

Leave a comment

by Lawrence J. J. Leonard

A movement echoes in the hall.
Where is it from?
The call of a snowy egret across the meadow
leaves me startled.
I flinch.

The sound is distinct enough
to cause my mind to stir.
Close enough
to cause my heart to pound.

Not dying embers snapping into ash.
Sudden crackle and bump in the dead of night 
shatters my sleep.
Shall I call out?

Footsteps by the bay window.
The heaviest of
cat
paws.

No felines reside here, my friends.

To grab a baseball bat or a gun?
Awful early to be making this kind of decision!
How I hope and pray
it is a chilled insect of some kind
insanely nipping
at the window frame.

Slow, now, my breath pacing the clock,
I try to hear above alarmed senses.
Again.
Again!
That muffled thumping!

A red glow attends my white stocking feet
as I creep out of bed.

The howl of the wind
may be shifting ice and snow
on the roof
once more

a sudden tinkling of ceramic and glass 
onto a wood table.

I screw up my courage and
crane my neck
around the doorway

into the hall.

Good Saint Nick!
It’s Santa Claus.

Santa Claus

 

 

 

 

So, be good for goodness’ sake!

Copyright © 1960-2016 Lawrence J. J. Leonard  All rights reserved

Author: SpindoctorUSA

Read about it here: https://marsearth.wordpress.com/about/

Leave a Reply

