Invisible fence

by Lawrence J. J. Leonard

Into the sand
down on my knees
chasing my shadow
as twilight fades
to catch
my breath

Helpless
heart pounding
no time to rest
the winds drive the waves
and the puppetmasters

Agony in every move
to break away
from my pursuers
without hope
bite my lip
no dream so frightening

Eyes in darkness
see what they see
a dreamer
lost
survival my only moan

There are voices
crowd noise
going crazy
a score is my fate
I,
a running man

Changing sides
someone else twists a joystick
my eyes lose focus
the playing field harder
foggy morning
again
I run

It’s tied
no advancing
time ticks away
Inevitable decision 
the crowd cries
in disbelief
as I escape

Copyright © 1960-2016 Lawrence J. J. Leonard  All rights reserved

Leave a Reply

