That old argument

by Lawrence J. J. Leonard

You speak
and the crowd looks past you.
You sing
and the crows comment.

You share
and the controllers look at their watches.
You demand
and the jury quiets with silent thoughts of other things.

I hear you.
Listen to hear every word.
Imagine your word pictures.

Follow your story.
Want your insight.
Ask questions about the theme.

Wonder how you came up with all this.
Jesus and personTry to share my thoughts, too.
Hope you don’t laugh at the quirkiness.

The crowd looks past you
and I separate from it.
The crows gather
as I leave.

The controllers look at their watches
while I look forward to our time together.
The jury quiets
and I am persuaded by your expressiveness.

So, don’t bring up that old argument
that no one is listening to you.

You don’t have to win that crowd.
Just speak,
emote, and
be honest.

I am listening to you, my precious one.

Copyright © 1960-2016 Lawrence J. J. Leonard  All rights reserved

Leave a Reply

