Pushing buttons

by Lawrence J. J. Leonard

Don’t have to leave the house,
just go online and push a button
and the food comes to my front door.

Does nobody see that my front door opened?
Maybe someone caught sight of me.

Don’t have to leave my cubicle,
only log on to the network
and the information tasks appear.

Wonder if my manager knows who much I do?
Oh, yeah. There’s a camera in my laptop.

Don’t have to buy stamps to pay the bills
just a registered bank account for the draft
and the payment gets sent directly.

Who should I talk to if there is a problem
when no one answers my email?

Where do I send the flowers and condolences when your digital image fades?
What kind of skype bar is good enough for the reunion?
How will I ever meet a virtual friend like you again by pushing buttons?

Why . . . we are “friended” by so many and be-friended by so few.
It must be the convenience of not talking face to face.

Copyright © 1960-2016 Lawrence J. J. Leonard All rights reserved.

Leave a Reply

