Robot Dad

by Lawrence J. J. Leonard

They put my thoughts and memories in a thumb drive
and copied into the ‘Robot Dad’ android.
Now, I am alive again.

My son says I appear to be self-aware.android
My daughter calls me sapient.
My wife says I’m part of a sentient blood line.
(It’s not really blood, you know.)

There are advantages for being anatomically fully functional.
I’m not all that excited about it.
This covering is a hybrid design.

Part pig and part human my skin reacts and feels.
I am Robot Dad in one package
for everybody’s comfort . . . really.

Memories I received don’t mean my old self will live on.
Just the good times plus all my crazy reactions.
Yet, I serve at the beck and call of the “assembly” team.

Who would have thought that Star Trek got it right
and the positronic cranium in the Data character
would become a reality in . . .  whenever this is?

I can think as fast as I did when I was 19,
and as deep as when I was 50, and
just as lovingly as when I was 33.

I am a better me, emotionally,
No, it really is not human inside this.
That’s because there is no good way to house a human brain.

So I have become a facsimile of my former self,
striving for a new version of my ‘newly’ borne humanity.
I have wit and wisdom to share. This is the NEW me!

I am Robot Dad with increased sensitivity,
and high level curiosity,
and I don’t have to watch what I eat.

There are some whispers of  ‘Robot Mom.’
(Seriously, I do not want to spend the rest of my life
with an android for a wife.)

Copyright © 1960-2016 Lawrence J. J. Leonard  All rights reserved.

Leave a Reply

