MarsEarth

Old world wisdom, new world insight – poems, poetry, philosophy, dreams, commentary, ideas

That’s my day today

Leave a comment

by Lawrence J. J. Leonard

The house makes a creek and it wakes me again.
My feet hit the floor and the timer begins.
Drink some juice with a piece of toast
Start doing the things that I love the most.

Grab the newspaper but it’s under the truck,
My knee bends hard. Ain’t that just my luck?
Chickens sleeping through those frog harmonies
and I pray they eat mosquitoes that keep biting me.

Head to the garden for pulling some weeds
and check the watermelons are still filled with seeds.
Grab a pole saw as it barely turns bright.
I’m cutting tree limbs by some sweet moonlight.

That’s my day, today.
While the stars still twinkle like Mars
I daydream too and think of you
but then
my list gets bigger:
chop the wood
fix the stove
set a post
paint the barn

I slip on my work gloves and pull up my belt.
Back-breaking work always gets felt.
Reset the gate that was covered with ants.
Watch where I step so I can keep on my pants.

Grab a flat shovel and pull up some turf
Get the wheelbarrow and fill it with earth
Push it to a shallow by the side of the house
Seven more times just as quiet as a mouse

That’s my day, today,
before the sun burns a sky-high run.
I daydream too and think of you
but then
my list gets bigger:
Mend the fence
clear that brush
sweep the shop
oh yeah, I gotta buy a new mop

What I’m thinking
is about how
when we’re together
I feel so good.
What I’m thinking is
I gotta keep working.
That side of me
is misunderstood.

I can hear the baby crying so I shuck of my boots.
Jog into the kitchen with some celery shoots.
Warm the baby formula. Keep the bottle steady.
In walks my sugar with the baby already.

I get a sleepy smile and the two of them are cooing.
All this before six while coffee is brewing.
Nothing in this world can be better than this,
except when my sweeties both give me a kiss.

That’s my day, today,
before the sun burns a sky-high run.
I daydream too and think of you.

That’s my day, today,
before the sun burns a sky-high run.
I daydream too and think of you.

That’s my day, today,
before the sun burns a sky-high run.
I daydream too and think of you,
but then
my list gets bigger:
I’ll spend
more time
loving
you.

Copyright © 1960-2016 Lawrence J. J. Leonard  All rights reserved.

Author: SpindoctorUSA

Read about it here: https://marsearth.wordpress.com/about/

Leave a Reply

