MarsEarth

Old world wisdom, new world insight – poems, poetry, philosophy, dreams, commentary, ideas

The Most Memorable award goes to David Bowie

Leave a comment

by Lawrence J. J. Leonard

No one can hold a candle to David Bowie.
He was an English singer, songwriter, multi-instrumentalist, record producer, arranger, painter, and actor. He was a music champion even until this day. He innovated style and delivery with producer Brian Eno and many others.

Born and raised in South London, Bowie developed master hits:
Space Oddity” “Starman”  – Ziggy Stardust, his androgynous alter ego
“Fame”
“Heroes”
“Lodger”
“Ashes to Ashes”
“Under Pressure”
“Let’s Dance”

And dozens of others live on in our memories.  On his 69th Birthday, David released the studio album: Black star.  Liver cancer took his life.

“Changes”
by David Bowie
Hunky Dory
released December 7, 1971

I still don’t know what I was waiting for
And my time was running wild
A million dead-end streets
Every time I thought I’d got it made
It seemed the taste was not so sweet
So I turned myself to face me
But I’ve never caught a glimpse
Of how the others must see the faker
I’m much too fast to take that test

Ch-ch-ch-ch-Changes
(Turn and face the strain)
Ch-ch-Changes
Don’t want to be a richer man
Ch-ch-ch-ch-Changes
(Turn and face the strain)
Ch-ch-Changes
Just gonna have to be a different man
Time may change me
But I can’t trace time

I watch the ripples change their size
But never leave the stream
Of warm impermanence and
So the days float through my eyes
But still the days seem the same
And these children that you spit on
As they try to change their worlds
Are immune to your consultations
They’re quite aware of what they’re going through

Ch-ch-ch-ch-Changes
(Turn and face the strain)
Ch-ch-Changes
Don’t tell t hem to grow up and out of it
Ch-ch-ch-ch-Changes
(Turn and face the strain)
Ch-ch-Changes
Where’s your shame
You’ve left us up to our necks in it
Time may change me
But you can’t trace time

Strange fascination, fascinating me
Changes are taking the pace I’m going through

Ch-ch-ch-ch-Changes
(Turn and face the strain)
Ch-ch-Changes
Oh, look out you rock ‘n rollers
Ch-ch-ch-ch-Changes
(Turn and face the strain)
Ch-ch-Changes
Pretty soon you’re gonna get a little older
Time may change me
But I can’t trace time
I said that time may change me
But I can’t trace time

Click here to listen to this great song.

RIP
David Robert Jones
January 8, 1947 – January 10, 2016

David Bowie 1947 2016

See and hear the ultimate concert – Glass Spider Tour 1987

Copyright © 1960-2016 Lawrence J. J. Leonard  All rights reserved.

Author: SpindoctorUSA

Read about it here: https://marsearth.wordpress.com/about/

Leave a Reply

