My old attitude

by Lawrence J. J. Leonard

I have lived for myself and lived for us two.
Love was a journey and then came you.

All the advice I ever got said:
“Love is in the heart, 
while choice is in the head.”

Sometimes I was not able to choose what to say
or what my love should have heard day to day.

There was so much joy my life was supposed to bring, but
I stepped into your pain, my old attitude.

Today I choose to abandon you in every way.
Now, there is no such thing as:

  • Memories of our one-sided friendship
  • Your living in my head
  • Forgetting how selfish you are
  • All my good works being unappreciated 
  • A day without my confident smile
  • My value ever being ignored.

I have a new attitude.

Copyright © 1960-2015 Lawrence J. J. Leonard  All rights reserved.

Leave a Reply

