What happened after He won the bet?

by Lawrence J. J. Leonard

This is the :60 second, TV sit-com, Lowest Common Denominator of words that you can read Version for enjoying “The Book of Job.”

G – You tried to ruin Adam, but for Eve, the redemption plan is activated.

S – Well played, Mighty One. Yet Adam had a biological hedge around him.
Have you not placed a supernatural hedge around Job and all that he has?

G – Job is faithful and blameless with praise on his lips.

S – Job fears you for no reason! Stretch out your arm and strike all he has, then watch him curse you to your face. Take this bet on your word?

G – So it is that Job has life. Of this no harm can come, you determined unbeliever!

Having left the presence of the Mighty One, Satan smashed, ruined and destroyed Job’s possessions and land. Took the lives of Job’s children. Depleted Job’s immune system so that sores covered his body. And so distracted Job from his confidence in the Mighty One.

J – I loathe my life.  (And he scraped his sores with a piece of broken pottery.)

W – Still think this is all about you and your integrity?  Curse G_d and die.

J – My spirit is broken.

Three of Job’s neighbors approached him and comforted him for seven days and seven nights, weeping with him and seeing his pain. Job complained that his good life should be enough to alert the Mighty One to stop the pain.

J – I am innocent, but the Mighty One denies me justice.

E – Should G_d reward you because you refuse to repent?

. . . and before Job’s friend could finish, a voice came out of the thunder . . .

G – Who is this that obscures my plans with words without knowledge?                   Where were you when I laid the earth’s foundation?
Tell me, if you understand. Who marked off its dimensions? Surely you know!

Would you discredit my justice? Would you condemn me to justify yourself?
Do you have an arm like God’s, and can your voice thunder like his?
Then adorn yourself with glory and splendor, and clothe yourself in honor and majesty.

J – I know that you can do all things; no purpose of yours can be thwarted.
Surely I spoke of things I did not understand, things too wonderful for me to know.

My ears had heard of you but now my eyes have seen you.
Therefore I despise myself and repent in dust and ashes.

What happened after the Mighty One won the bet?

S – See? Job was repulsed by you.

G – You SHAMEFUL thing!  Job has repented because of me.
Now praise AND blessing are on his lips.
Honor the bet and keep your mouth shut until Shevat, 5776.

S – Okay, until March, 2016 A.D.
Hmm. A.D. – that’s Adam Devastatus.

G – No.  Anno Domini.

S – Yes! I will be lord . . .

.             ~
G – <THUNDER>
.             ~

Copyright © 1960-2015 Lawrence J. J. Leonard  All rights reserved

 

Leave a Reply

