I am super, and I am not so super

by Lawrence J. J. Leonard

I am superable when you tell me you love me
plus superabsorbent for all our complements
A superachiever, killing mosquitoes with a sledgehammer
even superber (yeah, I went there) when I make you smile

I give superciliary looks if you are not respected
and have a supercolossal shoulder for you to lean on
You make me feel superconfident in all my trials (okay, most)
then share superdeluxe hugs when they are over

There is a calm in my superego
because of your superelevating support
With little desire to compete with the superelite
my cool nature is so superevident

Every morning my supererogatory actions
seem superfluous to those only worried about themselves
And this does not phase me one bit because
I am your superette of small favors and repairs and hugs.

When time has been collected and can be spent relaxing
A paper superliner on the pond or box in the hall
can hold as much wonder
as superman bounding high into the sky

There are some things I am not so super at being
I can’t supersede your opinion
it is important to me
and being superficial is not deep enough for my feelings

My world is grounded in pragmatism
so if things ever get surreal
I will make them superreal
and we will deal.  Yes we will deal, superlatively.

Copyright © 1960-2015 Lawrence J. J. Leonard  All rights reserved.

Leave a Reply

