Broken bond fire

by Lawrence J, J. Leonard

I got up
and started to tell
all the stakeholders
how I had been Burned:

“Was it good for you
when you quickly hit send?
It wasn’t meant for me.
ain’t got no love from your lips

Every day and night
you’d demand that I would bend.
This isn’t good for me
no doubt
your alibis slipped

Did you see the ember
deep inside my heart?
And from you?
one cold look

did you see the flames
did you see the smoke
when you played your games
after I awoke

Every silent alarm
went off in my head,”

now I am ashes

Copyright © 1960-2015 Lawrence J. J. Leonard  All rights reserved.

Leave a Reply

