MarsEarth

Old world wisdom, new world insight – poems, poetry, philosophy, dreams, commentary, ideas

Because I Am Yours

Leave a comment

By Lawrence J. J. Leonard

Because I am curious, I saw that the Power never slept,
and there were no shadows creeping from under the footstool.
The daily papers said He was dead.
The Power laughed at the rumor.
Then messengers came in with requests, extensions, and second chances.

Because I am interested, I continued watching the Power,
wondering out loud if old movies on the giant TV were entertainment enough.
All those servants. All that time
and never getting tired of loving us?
The Power wore a white robe, so clean, looking fresh from a sunlight bath.
Will we ever get that clean and shiny?

Because I am intrigued, I stared at the Power in a big rocking chair,
head shaking all directions through the storied reports, some of hearts turned cold.
The Power never got worried
nor was their anger as love was declared and it covered the world.

Because I am easily surprised, every kind of thought and every curse that humans have
did not move the Power they way I thought they should.
All of our troubles seemed to be in parental control.

“Because I Am yours,” the Power said turning toward me,
“Love is here for you!
Even if you want something more.”

Copyright © 1960-2015 Lawrence J. J. Leonard  All rights reserved.

Author: SpindoctorUSA

Read about it here: https://marsearth.wordpress.com/about/

Leave a Reply

