The Whole Nine Yards

by Lawrence J. J. Leonard

She is pretty and dressed to kill,
but I can’t see the forest for the trees.

“Quit while you’re ahead,” she said,
but I don’t take ‘no’ like a duck to water.

Dressed better than Sunday, it seems,
and the clasp was right in front of me –
just as plain as a rainy Tuesday!

There is no victory without a battle.
So, I pulled with all my might, and started
spinning my wheels. It is true!

Better the devil you know than the devil
you don’t. I didn’t know her that well.

Maybe I tickled her fancy, maybe I was the
fall guy. She took the bull by the horns,
and started beating a dead horse.

“Next time,” I suggested, “you give me a
ring, put your money where your mouth is.”

That’s when she kissed me and the fur began
to fly. Loving someone means
you have to give the whole nine yards.

Copyright © 1960-2015 Lawrence J. J. Leonard  All rights reserved.

Leave a Reply

