MarsEarth

Old world wisdom, new world insight – poems, poetry, philosophy, dreams, commentary, ideas

Mere or merely

Leave a comment

by Lawrence J. J. Leonard

First Look is all about movement.
See my hand touch my reflected face?
All the sunlight through my hair colors my skin.
Something behind me?
I’ve never been able to notice that before.

Second Look I see my own eyes.
They are wide and quick, and deep and serious.
I can move my eyebrows and blink.
I have a smile and can be mean looking.

The Third Look is with another mirror.
Can you see me if I hide?
Hundreds of me agree and then disagree.
This is the visualization of infinite?

The Fourth Look is growth and change and clothes.
I don’t want to look at my skin, just fabrics.
So many patterns and lines and blended subtleties.
I can look Royal forever.

The Fifth Look brings me stress because I am stressed.
Life is filled with responses and choices and what causes wrinkles.
I can see the lines of one thousand smiles and two bad frowns.
Being upset makes me look fat.

The Sixth Look shows my lifestyle and resolve.
Exercising, overeating, undereating, fads, crazes.
Maybe some tattoo artwork or just cut my hair?
Either way this mirror is not my friend like it used to be.

The Seventh Look and I notice that the mirror is face down, too.
I dreamt about what it would take to control my reflection.
There is no way to control it!  Must control how we look at 20 years from now.
Reflections show not what we do, just what we’ve done to ourselves.

Be the first responder in your own life.

Copyright © 1960-2015 Lawrence J. J. Leonard  All rights reserved.

Author: SpindoctorUSA

Read about it here: https://marsearth.wordpress.com/about/

Leave a Reply

