MarsEarth

Old world wisdom, new world insight – poems, poetry, philosophy, dreams, commentary, ideas

Art of my heart

Leave a comment

by Lawrence J. J. Leonard

Oh!
This is what it is to see through your eyes and feel what you feel?

I feel so rumpled and so determined to smooth out all the edges,
put creases where there were none,
and straighten up everything.

Is this why you are so upset when I am messy?

Strong emotions of needing to rest, of holding my breath underwater,
of expecting the phone to ring.
I guess I was the one causing you to experience that pressure.

It is great to just lie down for a moment and catch a few quiet moments.
The pillow is soft enough to lure me back to sleep.
I must investigate you further.

All these dates come crashing into my head when I look at the alarm clock!

Time is closing in on me.  Is this your biological clock?
What a pain! Unable to just enjoy the moment
without having to do something, be somewhere for the sake of a deadline.

Did we switch places and have you walked into me?

Do you know now how much I love you and how much I fear you will leave.
I am still growing up at 30 years and you have shown me so much
that I am grateful. Don’t confuse my love with that.

I love you so much. 
Now, let me go back to me, so that I can appreciate you more.

Copyright © 1960-2015 Lawrence J. J. Leonard  All rights reserved.

Author: SpindoctorUSA

Read about it here: https://marsearth.wordpress.com/about/

Leave a Reply

