In tone assy tone

by Lawrence J. J. Leonard

Hard to decide if it’s going to be a girl or a boy.

X – Why can’t you be more forthcoming

Y – If I have problems expressing myself, why do you expect me to be good at this?

X – I know I am impatient…

Y – And here’s your reward for the most understated phrase in the 21st Century.

X – Sarcasm? At your age?

Y – Surprise from an impartial bystander?

X – I’m not –  Okay, I do tend to look but not engage.

Y – Is it always going to be about you?

X – I thought we were talking about you?

Y – I was, but you have a tendency to ‘poke the bear.’

X – I’m the one with knives in the back.

Y – Here you roar, again.

X – Hear me say this. I don’t want to fight. Help me “get it.”

Y – Stop taking my lines.

Sometimes it’s how we use our tone of voice and not the words themselves.

Copyright © 1960-2015 Lawrence J. J. Leonard  All rights reserved.

Leave a Reply

