Endless echo

by Lawrence J. J. Leonard

When I leave you it will only be for a short time.
I leave you alone, but not lonely.
No matter where I go, you remain with me.
Though you remain, can’t you still hear me in the wind?

I have heard that G_d has no grandchildren.
When I think about it, I feel as if there is a transformation.

Every day I hear my ancestors call to me, guide me.
They remind me that it is family which is the most precious.
Anyone who loves and is sincere can be family.

The echo of my ancestors is a prayer.

The prayer is this:
“I hope the Great Heavenly Father,
who will look down upon us,
will give all the tribes His blessing.

“That we may go forth in peace,
and live in peace all our days,
and that He will look down upon our children
and finally lift us far above this Earth.

“And that our Heavenly Father will look upon our children
as His children.
That all the tribes may be His children.
And as we shake hands today
upon this broad plain,
we may forever live in peace.”

Prayer by Red Cloud (Marpiya-Luta)
Chief, Oglala Sioux

Copyright © 1960-2015 Lawrence J. J. Leonard  All rights reserved.

Leave a Reply

