See the time we shared it was precious to me

by Lawrence J. J. Leonard (USMC)

In our encounters with life,
Marines (and squids) see honor in service.
Death is a welcomed door
because we already know why we are fighting.

So it is we celebrate each day we are given
from our God, to our country, and for our family.

“Revelry”
KINGS OF LEON

What a night for a dance, you know I’m a dancing machine
With the fire in my bones
And the sweet taste of kerosene

USN RANDALL SMITH Petty Off
United States Navy –  Petty Officer Randall Smith

I get lost in the night so high don’t wanna come down
To face the loss of the good thing that I have found
Woo hoo hoooo
Woo hoo hoooo

USMC SQUIRE K WELLS Lnc Cpl
United States Marine Corps –  Lance Corporal Squire K. Wells

In the dark of the night I can hear you calling my name
With the hardest of hearts, I still feel full of pain
So I drink and I smoke and I ask you if you’re ever around
even though it was me who drove us right into the ground

USMC CARSON HOLMQUIST SGT
United States Marine Corps – Sergeant Carson Homquist

See the time we shared it was precious to me
But all the while I was dreaming of revelry
Gonna run baby run like a stream down a mountainside
With the wind in my back I won’t ever even bat an eye

USMC DAVID WYATT SSGT
United States Marine Corps – Staff Sergeant David Wyatt

Just know it was you all along that had a hold of my heart
But the demon in me was a best friend from the start
So the time we shared it was precious to me
All the while I was dreaming of revelry

USMC THOMAS SULLIVAN Gy Sgt
United States Marine Corps – Gunnery Sergeant Thomas Sullivan

Dreaming of revelry
And I told myself oh the way you go
it rained so hard it felt like snow

Everything came tumbling down on me
In the back of the woods in the dark of the night
Paleness of the old moonlight everything just felt so incomplete

Dreaming of revelry
Dreaming of revelry

God Bless the Marine Corps and
God Bless the US Navy!

To those who have gone before – Rest In Peace.

To those who serve – Ooo Rah!

US USMC crossed flags

Copyright © 1960-2015 Lawrence J. J. Leonard  All rights reserved.

One thought on “See the time we shared it was precious to me

Leave a Reply

