MarsEarth

Old world wisdom, new world insight – poems, poetry, philosophy, dreams, commentary, ideas

George said he doesn’t care.

Leave a comment

by Lawrence J. J. Leonard

George said he doesn’t care.
But, I hear it in his voice.

I get dressed up
and drive to the spectacular
only to be derided, insulted,
and forced to laugh at the things
I deride and insult.

What a relationship!

He says, “See this? Can’t you see this?”
And I see it
and it made me mad
but now I laugh at its former power over me.

Disappointment and contempt are shared on stage.
Walking us all through the scenario
of American life and its paradoxes.
He is a show off and I can’t help myself.

I already know how he feels.
I want to know what he sees, though.
My curiosity is heightened by his curiosity to to shame
with simple words.

Simple words have power.
Complicated words have a pedigree.

Simple words are used to explain big and deep feelings.
Complicated words only describe the very specific.

George has changed the way I feel about ‘stuff.’
The fact that I can call it ‘stuff’ 
is a quantum leap forward in recognizing
my mortality and my unnecessary attachment to ‘stuff.’

I am going to:

  • clean out my closet
  • donate my goodies to a charitable organization
  • live with a little less stuff in my life, and
  • appreciate the people in my life.

George’s look on life is now a part of my ‘stuff.’

George Denis Patrick Carlin (1937-2008)
“In America, anyone can become president. That’s the problem.”

Author: SpindoctorUSA

Read about it here: https://marsearth.wordpress.com/about/

Leave a Reply

