MarsEarth

Old world wisdom, new world insight – poems, poetry, philosophy, dreams, commentary, ideas

Poetic conversations from Bill S.

Leave a comment

by Lawrence J. J. Leonard

Here is a great excerpt of poetic conversation in its purest from from 
William Shakespeare’s A Midsummer Night’s Dream:

End of ACT III, Scene 2

DEMETRIUS
Nay then, thou mock’st me. Thou shalt buy this dear,
If ever I thy face by daylight see.
Now, go thy way; faintness constraineth me
To measure out my length on this cold bed.
By day’s approach look to be visited. [Sleeps]

Re-enter HELENA

HELENA
O weary night, O long and tedious night,
Abate thy hours, shine comforts from the east,
That I may back to Athens by daylight
From these that my poor company detest;
And sleep, that sometimes shuts up sorrow’s eye,
Steal me awhile from mine own company. [Sleeps]

PUCK
Yet but three? Come one more,
Two of both kinds make up four.
Here she comes, curst and sad:
Cupid is a knavish lad,
Thus to make poor females mad.

Re-enter HERMIA

HERMIA
Never so weary, never so in woe,
Bedabbled with the dew and torn with briers,
I can no further crawl, no further go;
My legs can keep no pace with my desires.
Here will I rest me till the break of day.
Heavens shield Lysander, if they mean a fray! [Sleeps]

PUCK
On the ground
Sleep sound:
I’ll apply
To your eye,
Gentle lover, remedy.
Squeezing the juice on LYSANDER’s eyes
When thou wak’st,
Thou tak’st
True delight
In the sight
Of thy former lady’s eye!
Exit

Copyright © 1960-2015 Lawrence J. J. Leonard  All rights reserved.

Author: SpindoctorUSA

Read about it here: https://marsearth.wordpress.com/about/

Leave a Reply

