MarsEarth

Old world wisdom, new world insight – poems, poetry, philosophy, dreams, commentary, ideas

Telephone me

Leave a comment

by Lawrence J. J. Leonard

The telephone won’t ring.
The silence is deafening.
Is it working?

Check it for life.
Dial tone.
Did someone try to call just then?

It would have been busy just then.
Hang up!

Stare at it.
Curse it.
Plead with it!
Pray that messenger of voices to grant a gift.
Your call.

I pretend it’s you when it rings.
You are calling.
You are calling me.
You are calling me by name.
You care calling me by name, your dearest.

Then a second ring.
It can’t be you.
If it is, you won’t tell me your feelings.
If it is, you won’t even say hello?

The third ring is proof that it is not you.
I have given up on your smile over this line.
No joy from that contraption.

I pick up the receiver and answer the call,
straining to hear a mysterious voice.
This single ounce object is so heavy, now,
and my heart is beginning to break.

The voice asks for me by name.
I recognize your tone and inflection.
It is you, isn’t it?

Copyright © 1960-2015 Lawrence J. J. Leonard  All rights reserved.

Author: SpindoctorUSA

Read about it here: https://marsearth.wordpress.com/about/

Leave a comment