My Shameless Spirit

by Lawrence J. J. Leonard

The Great Spirit’s Voice is heard in the wind. 
It breathes into man all life and all song.
It is He who has all wisdom.
It is She who has all compassion

The Great Spirit embodies all power for all mankind,
and all of the physical world.

I pray you make my hands strong in gentility, 
and in my deafness a perception of the wind
so that I may hear your Voice.

Let me learn the way of the new tides
of water, of season, of emotion.

Great Spirit, whose voice is in the wind,
help me to come to you
with straight eyes
with clean hands
with knowledge of love,
so that when my life fades as the sunset,
You will welcome my shameless spirit
into the calm of your world.

 Copyright © 1960-2015 Lawrence J. J. Leonard  All rights reserved.

Leave a Reply

