Are you up for the task?

by Lawrence J. J. Leonard

“Are you up for the task?”
Love this question, because there is never an explanation of the purpose of the task.
Hate this question because there is never an explanation of the energy needed for the task.

Sometimes I answer, ‘sometimes.’
Probably just hated committing to a task when it was not my idea.
One-hundred percent of the time I answer, ‘one-hundred percent maybe.’
This way I can delay in starting.
Glad to say I answer, ‘so glad you asked me. What’s in it for you?’
Just to see who else is participating.

A task is usually some type of physical labor.
Need to do more sit-ups and push-ups to be capable of it.

A task is usually some type of creative endeavor.
Don’t they know you can’t just poop out creativity?

A task is usually some type of routine that requires discipline.
Will I be able to finish in five minutes or five years?

No one ever asks if the deadline is unreasonable.
No one ever asks if the ultimate goal is to please somebody outside the group.
No one ever asks if the task requires funding and grit and vision and emotional investment.

Someone is getting paid for my efforts.
Someone I don’t know is benefiting from my focus.
Someone gets to be the person to thank the audience when my deeds are praiseworthy.

I don’t need the fame or the funds.
I need the strokes.
Tell me I am doing well.
Check up on my progress.
Answer my questions while I am building this thing called ‘output.’
Let me put my signature in and on the product.

Otherwise, yes.
I am up for the task you have insisted that I fashion with my soul.

Am I up for the task?
Okay, I’ll bite.
What do you really want from me?

Copyright © 1960-2015 Lawrence J. J. Leonard  All rights reserved.

Leave a Reply

