MarsEarth

Old world wisdom, new world insight – poems, poetry, philosophy, dreams, commentary, ideas

VERSE: That last step

Leave a comment

by Lawrence J. J. Leonard, February 2015

Chasing the rabbit he runs, then he stops.
I stutter and side-step, I pounce but he hops.
No matter the meadow or valley or plain,
the rabbit escapes and goes home again.

Time is that bunny who gives me the eye.
Isn’t it funny when your heart tells a lie?
“You’re gonna make it boy, just give it your all.”
By noon I am only half way down the hall.

I’m running toward you, open arms, anticipating every smile
Nobody knows how long I’ve loved you
Eventually the days will tell

You said before and now say again, ‘This might take us a while.’
Forever’s a long time to be blue.
and clarity’s a living hell.

Each one of us see’s tomorrow, then puts it in a future file.
Always checking for a false or true:
– Sign
– Explosion
– Spectacular swell

“Tomorrow,” some say, “is better for me. Better not cramp my style”
Got no reason. No, not into you.
I stuttered, side-stepped, pounced, then fell.

The last step for me is fooling myself.
Each morning ray of light consumes me
I dream then awaken and hope I am making
the last step for you but I’m fooling myself.

Chasing the rabbit he stops, then he runs.
I stutter and side-step, he pounces, lunges.
No matter the meadow or valley or plain,
the rabbit escapes and goes home again.

Time is that bunny who leaves me to sigh.
Isn’t it funny when your heart says goodbye?
“You’re gonna make it boy, just give it your all.”
By twilight’s end I am in a full crawl.

I’m living in winter
with my mind in the spring
One look and this heart begins to sing
My hopes could never take the place of you.

I’m running toward you, open arms, anticipating every smile
Nobody knows how long I’ve loved you
Eventually the days will tell

The last step for me: coming off the shelf.
Each morning ray of light consumes me
I dream then awaken and hope I am making that last step for you.
Am I fooling myself?

Copyright © 1960-2015 Lawrence J. J. Leonard  All rights reserved.

Author: SpindoctorUSA

Read about it here: https://marsearth.wordpress.com/about/

Leave a Reply

