MarsEarth

Old world wisdom, new world insight – poems, poetry, philosophy, dreams, commentary, ideas

I thought you were dead

Leave a comment

by Lawrence J. J. Leonard – October, 2014

I heard on the news that there was a car crash.
Bank robbers in daylight who stole a big stash
the policemen charged but there was a backlash.
I thought you were dead.

The phone call startled with a loud interrupt.
An official was sorry for being abrupt.
The details caused my head to erupt.
Because I thought you were dead.

No one is safe from these trying times.
nobody can move on alone.
One day you wake up and notice the signs
Looking for you but you’re gone

The Hospital clerk said I had to pay cash
A nurse said the shock would leave me in a flash
The orderly waited then pulled back a sash
I thought you were dead

I saw beautiful eyes in a surprised disrupt
And two ruddy cheeks that were long since bankrupt
A yesterday causing your smile to corrupt
Because I thought you were dead

No one is safe from these trying times.
nobody can move all alone.
One day you wake up and notice the signs
that look for you but you’re gone

Next time I see you we’ll throw a big bash
No matter if urns collect all of the ash
And      afterwards      we’ll      have      still one thing to hash
Because I                   thought you were dead

No one is safe from these trying times.
nobody can move off alone.
One day you wake up and notice the signs
that look for you but you are gone

No ID for friends underdeveloped
No common sense and never wallopped
My heart cannot take another hiccup
Don’t make me re-think you are dead.

 

Author: SpindoctorUSA

Read about it here: https://marsearth.wordpress.com/about/

Leave a Reply

